Listen, Darling

Listen, Darling

I don’t know why I’m so easily lost.
I’m not sure why I see only cost.
I wish you could glimpse into my mind
For only the slightest second.
You’d probably run away before emptyhanded.
Or maybe you’d stay, very curious indeed.
Walk the trodden path of an un-noble steed.
Cringe and cry at the thoughts that conspire,
Wishing words to inspire and take you higher,
But that’s just a veil and not what’s really inside.
Stand tall, alone, and without me, please abide.
Because although I may seem good, and generous,
It’s time you understood, I’m actually quite horrendous.
Darling you see these blue eyes,
But you know nothing of the mind hiding behind.
You look for the good in others, but I’m evil.
Darling can’t you see! I could pose as the devil!
Look! Look at me! Look with your innocent, naive eyes,
And know that every living thing that I touch dies.

* * * *

I’ll try to forget what you just said.
How you just basically called me stupid.
Listen, darling, when I see you, I see a person.
Flawed yes. Misguided? Maybe. Perfectly broken.
Where you see horrendous and grotesque,
I see room for improvement.
Why do you think that I can’t see your mind?
Why do you think from me,you can hide?
No one is perfect, why can’t you see?
You are exactly perfect for me.
Forget about your textured past.
I certainly have.
Why can’t you see that this is a love that lasts!

* * * *

My truest Darling. Love is not what I’m questioning.
The one at the plate is me.
I will only cause pain and suffering.
Right now, your life is only sitting still; buffering.
Forget about me now, and just leave.
Wipe your rivered tears on my sleeve.
Wake your darling, clean, green eyes
So that you can non-slumbered realize
I’m not just broken barely shattered,
I’m completely lost and completely battered.
Darling, I’m a monster, while you’re a darling.
You’re a fairytale, while with drunkards I sing.

* * * *

Stop it! Just stop with the self-abuse!
I’ve had enough of this morbid recluse!
Go out and get some fresh air.
And have but one worry and one care.
I need a loaf of bread, please.

* * * *

Ha! Bread! As if I deserve such food.
You go out and do it. I’m in no mood.
Before you go out, I ask of you, one last kiss,
For I fear it is the one thing I’ll most miss.
And perhaps a few loving, warm words,
Although it is far more than I deserve.
And maybe, just right before you go,
A smile on the face I will always know.

* * * *

Before you cue the violins and give me a heart attack
Just sit down and wait for me to come back.
Five minutes, I swear
This is far too much for me to bear.

* * * *

There I go again,
Breaking your fragile heart,
Stop me, before I start.
I truly am abyss souled.
Where my heart should be, there’s a hole.
I enjoy the darkness too much,
And sleep, awake in blackness such.

* * * *

What?

* * * *

Just leave, and wipe your rivered tears on my sleeve

* * * *

You said that already

* * * *

I did?

* * * *

Yes, your poetry is starting to get lousy

* * * *

Really?

* * * *

Yes, now, is there anything else you need?
My “un-noble steed”?

* * * *

Only your blessed affection,
like a prayed for infection.

* * * *

Why’d I marry a poet?

* * * *

I don’t know, but tell me when you know it.

-M.L.Wright

      I came up with this a few days ago while waiting for a meeting. I was so devastatingly bored that I pulled out my notebook and jotted down a story of a married couple fighting (one of them being an overly dramatic poet) and found myself laughing through most of it.  It’s kind of ridiculous, don’t you think?
I got the above picture from google images and then drew in some of my own color. I’m not sure who the original artist is, partly because it’s a project that I did years ago and I tried to look it up but my research was fruitless. Oh well.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

