Lines, Lines, Lions

Lines, Lines, Lions

 

When I was younger, smaller, simpler

Lions were friendly

They worked in Libraries

Librarian Lions

Taught me to read

Read between the lions

 

But lions can’t read

I’m older, taller, complicated

And now I can see

That Lions are complicated

But at least now I can read

But lions can’t read

 

Lions can be scary

All big and falsely hairy

Puppeteers are awfully scary

Wearers of masks are scarier

One lesson I’ve learned in life

is to read between the lions

-M. L. Wright

     I grew up watching PBS and Between the Lions was on a lot. And I loved that show. I loved reading. I simply loved the idea of books. Funny story, I don’t remember learning how to read. I remember learning to write my name and pronouncing the letter R correctly, but I don’t remember learning how to read.

Leave a Reply

