Alice

Alice

 

When the tables turn,

I’ll be there.

When fires scorn and burn,

I’ll be there.

When the world ends,

I’ll be there.

I’ll save all.

I’ll blame all.

I’ll fight all.

Feel the urge to fight me?

Hear that painful scream?

Hear that war cry?

I don’t want to fight you,

But I will if I have to.

-M.L. Wright

     Alice is an idea that I’ve been toying with for years. Even before I wanted to be a writer. It all started when I was in the third grade and I wanted to impress my third grade teacher, so I wrote a plain, short story about a girl rescuing her sister and it got a lot of attention. And I just kept going from there. Now it’s a complex trilogy, less innocent than my eight-year-old mind could really handle. It’s pretty much just about war and fighting now. If you couldn’t tell from the poem.

 

Leave a Reply

