Mirrors

Mirrors

 

Mirrors have distorted my self-image.

Where I saw beautiful, I saw you.

But you’re no longer here.

My mirrors were my portal to you.

But you’re no longer here.

 

Momma told me I was beautiful

ever since I was a little girl

But I no longer believe her.

My mirrors were my portal to you.

But you’re no longer here.

 

My mirrors cracked and broke.

Where I once saw you, I stroke.

But I use violence and it hurts.

My mirrors were my portal to you.

But you’re no longer here.

 

I tore the mirrors down,

Because I’m so alone,

Why aren’t you here?

                        I don’t believe her.

                              My portal to you.

-M.L. Wright

One thought on “Mirrors

Leave a Reply

