Downside to Socializing and Being a Writer

This does not apply to all writers. Really, I’m just going to share my experience while sprinkling in some stereotypes, because as much as I hate stereotypes, sometimes I am one.

Now, because I’m a writer, I spend most my waking hours in front of a screen or notebook, fighting sleep to get that last chapter in. Usually if I do socialize, it’s because I need to. Because my imaginary friends get on my nerves sometimes. But then I realize that my real friends are just as annoying, but I’m worse.

Number 1: I’m not paying attention to anything you’re saying. Which is dangerous.

Writer part 1.png

Writer part 2.png

writer-part-3

I’ve actually gotten into serious trouble for this exact thing. Character distraction may be a first world problem, but it’s still a problem.

Number 2: Only children take me seriously. Which is annoying.

I have no idea how to talk to adults because all they want to talk about is careers and kids and hobbies. Well I don’t have kids and don’t plan on any anytime soon. And as soon as I say “I’m a writer” they look at me like

Oh... Really.pngAlmost as if to say, “get a real job, you hippie”. But if I tell a child that I write stories their reaction is different. Instead, they want me to tell them a story. But they don’t just listen, they give honest feedback, and that is awesome.

 

Number 3: Involuntary outbursts

invountary-gasp

It’s gotten to the point where if I do this, I have to immediately say “It’s a writing thing” and then my loved ones will understand, but if it’s in public, it’s a little more difficult for them to understand.

If I’m in the middle of a story, then it almost takes over my mind.  When the story reveals plot twists, I’m just as surprised as any reader, if not, more so. And finding bits of information sometimes happens suddenly and out of no where. I tend to think of my characters as my babies, so, if say one get’s pregnant, that’s a big deal.  I’m going to be a grandma and you expect me to be quiet about it?

Number 4: My style has no sense.

Normal everyday outfits look like this-

  • Sweatpants/yoga pants/ jeans (but only if loose fitting)
  • Soft t-shirt, the wittier the caption, the better.
  • No jewelry
  • No makeup (ain’t nobody got time for dat)
  • Slippers or Tennis shoes (maybe)

My aunt also texted my mom something funny when she was trying to figure out gifts for everyone. She asked, “Is Maddi still wearing all that black?”

Yes, yes I am.

Number 5: Staring, even though I know it’s rude.

One of my favorite parts about writing, is creating characters and having the ability to describe them. But I have to have a template to go off of. So, I use other people around me. Exactly how their hair flows. The consistency of what their clothes look like. I tune into their voices and how they speak, where they pause in their sentences. What makes them tick, what gives them happiness? How do their eyes move across the room? Then I realize I’m staring and they look extremely uncomfortable, so I log that in my mind for future use as well. Does this make me a rude and horrible person? I don’t know. But if they tell it to my face, I might kill them off in my book. You’re welcome.

Number 6: When people ask me what I did for the day, I have nothing to tell them. Unless they want to know about what I wrote. Which they don’t.

best boyfriend.png

whatd-you-do-today

I'm glad you asked

Just so you know, the world where I get a boyfriend is completely imagined. But this would totally happen in that imagined world.

 

Number 7: I simply don’t want to socialize. I want to write in my cave all day.

If I was given the choice between all the gold in the world or to stay in my room all day, sitting in front of my laptop, undisturbed for five years straight, I would take the gold. Then, I would use the gold to buy a secluded island off the coast of Maine, and live out the rest of my days in a cave that I’ve modified to my liking. I’ve given this a lot of thought. Possibly too much.

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. I have these same habits! Sometimes I stare at people because they remind me of a character or I want to use their appearance for a character, and then it gets really awkward when they notice my staring…whoops.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The other day I saw a beautiful girl at Walmart that looked exactly the way I pictured a main character from a book I’m currently working on and I stopped, backed up, and gawked at her until she slowly backed away. I almost expected a restraining order.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

