Jewel

Jewel

 

I’ve come upon a jewel.

This rare, indelible thing,

Not able to be forgotten,

Not able to be unseen.

 

It came upon a midnight June

While asleep, while in a dream.

Wish I could forget it now,

The many facets of that jewel.

 

Facets carved from unholy men,

Then placed upon a heathen ring.

Not able to be forgotten,

Not able to be unseen.

 

As I beheld this ringed jewel,

Tokened by another man,

I praised its beauty,

As I kissed his conniving hand.

 

But little did he notice,

That as I kissed his thieving hand,

I stole back the beautiful ring!

And the ring was mine! Ha-ha!

 

But the jewel did not shine.

I could not keep it alive.

“I never meant to be a jewel,”

It cried every night.

 

So, I did what I had to.

I walked to the lake and tossed it in.

Not able to be forgotten,

Not able to be unseen.

-M.L. Wright

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

