Lake

Lake. I can feel the water up to my neck, knowing it’s too far. But I can go farther. Weeds can pull me down, but I can go farther. I can rise to the shore, but I want to go farther. I don’t want to leave the lake. The lake is my home. Where animals know they will have water. Where plants know they will get nutrients. Where animals eat the plants. Where an ecosystem grows. And I know, that this is home. Because this is my lake. The soft rolling waves, they bring tranquility. I know I’m safe. This is my lake. I walk along the shore, and I sink in the mud, clasp to birch nearby so I don’t fall in. But I know I’m safe. This is my lake. The smell of it, brings back memories of past visits. A mixture of peace and wilderness. No one else comes here, only the others who love the lake like me. No rules bind me. No anxiety stops me. I can go farther and I don’t want to leave the lake. Because the lake is mine. And no one can take it from me.

Leave a Reply

