Minnesota and why it’s annoying to live here

Really, I just feel like complaining because I have a lot to vent about. But it really is beautiful here and we (Minnesotans) have all five seasons- Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter, and Slush/Flood. But these are the reasons why it’s annoying to live in Minnesota.

Number 1: It’s too freakin cold here!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the winter months (people say November to April, but it depends on the year) it drops to -40 degrees. Plus wind-chill. And I live in a ruralish area of Minnesota. Every time we drive by a field of whatever farmers are growing these days, corn probably, we almost get blown off the road. It’s windy. It’s cold. It’s dry. But really, I don’t mind it. Snow and ice are pretty so long as I’m not driving on it. And there’s plenty to do inside.

Number 1 1/2: It’s too freakin hot here! Sometimes.

big-spring-in-fall_crop

This is a forgotten fact. But in the summer, once all the snow is melted and the sun beats down on the lakes, and the mosquitoes eat anyone trying to enjoy a pleasant beach, it gets hot and somewhat humid. Reaching up to 90-100 degrees F (32-38 C) on some days. But most days are actually pretty nice and easy to walk around in. So really, it’s not so bad. The worst part is people complaining about the heat when they’ve obviously never been in an actual hot place.

 

Number 2: People say “Pop” instead of “Soda”.

lk-bronson-pier-lake_crop

It’s the most annoying thing in the world. But I have a theory as to why we can’t utter the simple word soda from our mouths. It’s because it sounds too much like our state. MinneSODA.

Number 3: Everyone is way too obsessed with their snowmobiles.

snomo-1

You wanna know how I know everyone is obsessed with their snowmobiles? Because they like to ride past my house at 2 in the morning! Like a bunch of hooligans! But really, I’m envious. I’ve only been on a snowmobile once in my life, and I went to fast for anyone to handle. I was like, nine and my uncle was helping me. Still, it’s annoying.

Number 4: No one knows how to cook.

prairie-in-fall_crop

It’s something that my dad likes to call “Yankee Food” but I think it’s just gross. If you ever find yourself making a dish that has no distinguishable taste and has no real color and has a questionable texture, then you may be eating “Yankee Food”.

 

Number 5: Everyone thinks the way they speak is cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You think our silly accent is cute? You betcha? No. It’s not cute. It’s just annoying. Southern accents are cute. Minnesota accents are not. Get over yourself Minnesota.

Number 6: Minnesota nice DOES NOT REALLY EXIST!

swinging-bridge_crop

I think this was a tourist stunt to get people to come here. Some Minnesotans are nice. Possibly more than most. But a lot of us are just normal people that have the capability of being mean.

Number 7: We get defensive because people think we’re Canadian, but really, we kind of are.

big-bog-camper-cabin-in-winter-resized_crop

Out of all the states that border America’s northern neighbor, Minnesota seems to get called out on being Canada’s friend more than any other. And I don’t see why Minnesotans get upset when people make the connections between the two. We talk like them. We act like them apparently. Some say it’s “Patriotism”. But it’s the biggest compliment to call someone in Minnesota Scandinavian for some reason. Everyone thinks that they’re automatically Scandinavian because they live in Minnesota. Sorry, no. Go Vikings. (Vikings is our football team, if you needed any further proof)

But really, Minnesota is great. I guess.

 

P.S. I hope you enjoyed the pictures. I got them from this DNR website http://www.dnr.state.mn.us and I invite you to check it out. I remember really wanting to work for the DNR when I was a kid.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

