Silly Love

Silly Love

I’ve been in love before.

I laugh now as I think about it.

How silly we acted.

Dreaming of our out of reach futures,

Pretending like we could define its outline.

Learning to forgive.

Learning how silly love is.

Because I was in love—

To the stars and above.

Danced around to silly songs.

But knowing deep down,

I was too young.

Basically a child.

And children don’t feel that way.

Children don’t kiss with seriousness.

Children don’t feel a love unless it’s silly.

So, all these years, I’ve shrugged it off

As just a simple, silly love.

-M.L. Wright

Leave a Reply

