Be Normal

 

Be Normal

Why can’t I be normal?

I’m Liberal in a Conservative town.

I’m an ignorant millennial in an age of computers

A past ponderer, when everyone else looks to their future.

A girl in a man’s world.

My mother is the strongest person I know.

My father is the most sensitive person I’ve met.

But the world taught that men are supposed to be manly

And women are soft, feminine, and delicate.

But I surround myself with labels.

Try and force myself in a box labeled “normal”.

And live in a cruel, unfamiliar world.

Not a world of uniformity,

But a world of constant anxiety.

Am I normal?

Do I act sane?

But I have this to say.

The world needs you to be crazy.

-M.L. Wright

 

 

Leave a Reply

