To Court An Elephant

To Court An Elephant

 

“Hey, Harry!” Joe exclaimed, slurping water from the manmade pond.

“Hey, Joe,” Harry droned, depressed from the night before.

“What’s wrong?”

“Nothing, it’s just that… you know that girl- Sally?”

“Yeah, what about her?”

“Well, I asked her out and she rejected me,” he cried.

“Stop crying, you’re making the water saltier.”

“Sorry,” Harry sniffed.

“Did you wiggle your ears when you asked her?”

“Of course I wiggled my ears! You think I don’t know how to court an elephant lady?” Harry yelled and other elephants looked up at them.

“Show me,” Joe insisted.

“Like this,” Harry wiggled his ears wildly.

“I don’t see how she couldn’t have loved that.”.

“Practice makes perfect,” Harry bragged.

“Did you run up to her, then stop suddenly and make direct eye contact?”

“Yup.”

“Did you offer her slightly chewed sticks?”

“I might’ve forgotten that part.”

“I think that’s your folly.”

“I’m ruined forever,” Harry sobbed and sat down.

“Don’t think like that. The only thing that’s ruined is your chances with Sally. Just find another female to fall in love with,” Joe consoled.

“Sally is the only female HERE!”

“Oh yeah.”

 

 

~Photographer unknown

Leave a Reply

