Casket

Casket

 

When the Hearse drives me away,

Don’t cry.

But lock my casket up tight.

Let me take my secrets to my grave.

Let me outlive all my shame.

You don’t know

Anything about my skeletory corpse.

So, lock my casket tight.

Don’t let her creep out at night.

 

When ropes lower me down,

Don’t cry.

But lock my casket up tight.

Keep the snakes and spiders out.

Keep me as I lay now.

You don’t know

Anything about my fears.

So, lock my casket up tight.

Don’t let anything in at night.

 

When they bury the body,

Don’t cry.

But lock my casket up tight.

But every morning, visit me

Open the casket door and let in the light.

I don’t want it to be dark in there.

So, lock my casket up tight.

Just make sure it isn’t always night.

 

When my memory’s faded from the living,

You won’t cry.

Still will you lock my casket tight.

Let me keep my secrets.

Keep the crawlers out.

Let the light in.

Don’t forget about me.

Don’t let anything in at night.

 

Leave a Reply

